Mechanics, photography, aquatics
    Favourite Reel
    ABU 6500 Mag Elite
    Best Catch
    a sheep
    Post Thanks / Like

Shore Fishing the Solent

To remove this advert please register for a free account

Hey, I am a student in southampton studying marine biology at the oceanography centre and was wondering what target species there are in the solent, what time before/after high tide I should fish, and most importantly, whereabouts I should go. I am really limited to the eastern side of the solent south of the itchen as I don't have many readilyavailible forms of transport. Any advice or tips would be much appreciated.
    Cheers
    Tom

WSF Regular Poster

Favourite Rod
    custom made salmon and steelhead
    Favourite Reel
    abu garcia antibacklash
    Best Catch
    25lb striped bass
    Post Thanks / Like

Solent

Western Shore for Bass and Flounders 4 high tides a day due to IOW effect.

Interests
    Fishing, boats, fishing
    Favourite Rod
    One that cost £5 15 years ago
    Favourite Reel
    Quantum from USA
    Best Catch
    Tiger fish in Botswana
    Favourite Fishing
    Boat
    Favourite Boat
    Harley 25 "Rebel Runner"
    Post Thanks / Like
    I agree with Yomper. However you can also get the passenger ferry from Southampton over to Hythe and its a short walk to the marina, plenty of people fish from the sea wall there. You are coming up to the best time for flounders as they fatten up before moving away in the early spring.

WSF Regular Poster

Interests
    snowboarding and now fishing
    Favourite Rod
    the one I've just started with a Kiddy Atlantic Beachcaster
    Favourite Reel
    the one I'm starting out with Robinson Sailor 74
    Best Catch
    19lb Ling (Boat out of Weymouth)
    Post Thanks / Like

Shore Fishing the Solent.

Hi Tom,
    Welcome to the site!