1. Becoming a WSF Member is Free, you can also sign up using your Facebook, Twitter or Google Account to make life even easier.

Membership has the following benefits:
    - Members gain full access to the whole of the WSF site, including our popular for sale boards.
    - The ability to search through 10 years worth of tackle advice and catch reports.
    - Less adverts.
    - Regular updates on what is happening in the world of sea fishing.

2. VerticalScope Inc has acquired WorldSeaFishing - for a full statement please see the following thread:

VerticalScope Inc has acquired WorldSeaFishing

Dismiss Notice

Braid or Mono for Uptiding (can't find a definitive answer...)

Discussion in 'Beginners and Improvers' started by PaulJC37, Aug 21, 2016.

1. PaulJC37

PaulJC37 Member

Evening all,

I am new to WSF and would like to know people's opinion on whether they prefer braided mainline or monofilament for uptiding? I have looked for answers to this question here, and on the internet but the more I look the more confused I get! I understand you need a 'belly of line' in the tide to pull the grip lead into the sea bed, so does the thinner diameter of braid mean that this won't work?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks.

Paul.

2. Register or Sign in

Advertisement Sponsor

3. zzippyguy

zzippyguy Member

I use(as do most of my mates) braid mainline and a shock/rubbing leader.
    The braid cuts through the tide allowing us to use lighter leads and the shock/rubbing leader allows the initial pull of the bite and the motion of the boat/tide to be absorbed
    The down sides of using braid is that as it gets wet it can slip under your thumb and if you get a birdy the loops tend to be basically tiny
    Just my opinion

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. JonD

JonD Member

I use braid for just about everything, another vote for braid.

JonD

• Like Like x 3
  5. PaulJC37

PaulJC37 Member