1. Becoming a WSF Member is Free, you can also sign up using your Facebook, Twitter or Google Account to make life even easier.

Membership has the following benefits:
    - Members gain full access to the whole of the WSF site, including our popular for sale boards.
    - The ability to search through 10 years worth of tackle advice and catch reports.
    - Less adverts.
    - Regular updates on what is happening in the world of sea fishing.

2. VerticalScope Inc has acquired WorldSeaFishing - for a full statement please see the following thread:

VerticalScope Inc has acquired WorldSeaFishing

Dismiss Notice

Saltwater rod and reel help

Discussion in 'Saltwater Fly Fishing' started by Chris BVF, Sep 17, 2016.

1. Chris BVF

Chris BVF Member

Morning all. I've been spinning and beachcasting in saltwater for 30 years and fancy giving saltwater fly fishing a go. I also do a fair bit of trout fly-fishing so I can cast, tie flies and set up fly gear etc.

I have a budget of around £300. Can anyone help me with suggestions for a rod and reel? I'm thinking 8 weight. I'll be using it for pollack, coalies and wrasse on the west coast of Scotland. Bass would be a nice bonus.

Obviously I'd also need a fly line, recommendations for the cold Scottish waters appreciated.

Many thanks,
    Chris

2. Register or Sign in

Advertisement Sponsor

3. SALTWATERFLY

SALTWATERFLY Guest

Its a good budget

For the rod, I'd dpend £230 on the BVK 8wt 9foot 4 section, really superb, excellent lifetime warranty and 5 star after sales.

http://www.pecheur.com/en/gb/buy-fl...ml?gclid=CKO1ksW2ls8CFQkq0wodlbQHPw#af=393329

For the reel, I'd spend around £15 + £9.99 spare spool on the Airframe 7/9 graphite reel.

https://www.fishingmegastore.com/okuma-airframe-fly-reel~2097.html

For the line

Plenty of John Norris lines to chhose from, either the P3 or big fly at around £13

https://www.johnnorris.co.uk/fishing/fly-lines.html

Spent your budget, good selection above

• Agree Agree x 2