World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I realise that I'm probably not going to be very popular with most of you experienced shore fishermen as I'm one of those complete novices who has never done shore fishing before but wants to come to the seaside for the weekend and have a go, and'll probably crowd your spot and get in your way in the process! Would anyone then be able to answer my question of what would be the best cheap gear for a couple of times fishing in North Devon area? What laws govern shore fishing? Do you need a permit? Or a permit for a pier; harbour;etc? Cheers.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Welcome to WSF bud.
We all started somewhere so the first thing is don`t be afraid to ask questions.
We`ll all try our best to answer.

Re. tackle.
Have a look in one of the sea fishing mags. Sea Angler or Total Sea Fishing.
The adverts in there will give you an idea of cost etc.
If you`re not sure about which set up will suit you,just ask.
Ron Thompson do some very good value rod and reel combinations and are usually a good starting place.All the main tackle dealers will have them.
There is no such thing as a license to fish from the shore....yet.
There have been noises coming from the Government about introducing one and there have been several posts on this forum about the situation.
Where to fish depends on where you are,,,we have forums that cover all of the UK and Great Britain so have a look around the forums bud.
Another good way in is to chat to fisherman on the shore .The vast majority are only happy to help,there may be the odd grumpy sod :) ,say thanks and walk away.
As I said before ,have a look around the site,ask questions and we`ll all be more than happy to help.
Welcome aboard,
Terry F.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Forgot to say bud,
Some piers do charge for access and not all allow fishing but ask around.
Terry F.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4