World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to sea fishing after many years of freshwater (mainly fly fishing for trout) and I'm looking for a resaonable quality beachcasting setup as I most of my fishing in the UK will be done from Suffolk or Northumberland beaches. I feel more comfortable with the idea of a fixed spool reel as I'm very familiar with them and don't have the time to invest in learning new tricks with a multiplier, so what I think I need is a fairly long rod and a reasonable quality fixed spool reel. However, I really really would prefer a three (or more) piece rod as I intend to travel with it, probably to the USA at least once per year, and it's much easier to transport a shorter package by air.

My budget is round about £150 for the rod and reel, but doubtless the guardian of the bank account would prefer something cheaper. Anyone got any suggestions?

The reason I want to take the kit to the USA is that I've just returned from two weeks at Chincoteague Island, which is on the eastern shores of Virginia (find Chesapeake Bay and it's on the Atlantic coast). The fishing there is nothing short of amazing both in quantity and quality. Hired a small boat and took the family out in Chincoteague Bay and in the space of a couple of hours caught three decent flounder, a small shark and thirteen clear-nosed skate. The skate were all above 18 inches, the biggest running to 28 inches across. This one took 20 minutes to get into the boat as we were using very light gear and the kids thought this was just about as much fun as it could get! Eventually had to give up as we ran out of bait. According to Donna Rae, the doyenne of the fishing community, this was about an average catch...........