World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all this is my first post on WSF having joined yesterday!

Having been a shore angler for many years I've finally saved up to buy a small 18ft Shetland boat!

I am a relative novice to boat fishing, however have been out on several trips with a couple of the charter boys out of Weymouth.

Me and my old man are planning a trip to fish the Shambles bank on Saturday in hope of catching the odd flattie, and was wondering if anyone has any advice/tips/precautions when fishing this mark.

I have a Garmin Striker 4dv fish finder, and is the bank easy to find/identify? (Where exactly is it!!?)
Which areas of the bank are fishing best?
What flatties are about at the moment?
What are the best/easiest/safest states of tide to fish the bank?
Rigs/bait/tips?
Are there any dangers/precautions I should know about? I've heard how dangerous the 'Portland Race' can be.

I'd also quite like to try some Wrecking for Pollack and Cod, however I don't know many wreck marks and I don't know if they're fishing well. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction or have any co-ordinates?

Any help is greatly appreciated!!
Tight lines.
T

·
Banned
2,660 Posts
Hi there,

Welcome to WSF.

Shambles isn't my area, so can't comment on that, but as for more general guidance on wreck marks & numbers, I found that googling local diving clubs was worthwhile - there tend to be wreck co-ordinates listed on their sites which are equally relevant for anglers to use. Lyme Bay has plentiful wrecks, but some of them are a long way out. Take care, whatever you decide to do.

·
Premium Member
8,514 Posts
Hi all this is my first post on WSF having joined yesterday!

Having been a shore angler for many years I've finally saved up to buy a small 18ft Shetland boat!

I am a relative novice to boat fishing, however have been out on several trips with a couple of the charter boys out of Weymouth.