World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#000000'>I&#39;ve just started fishing and have been about 10 times. I fish at a nice spot in Eastbourne with a 12&#39; beach caster and fixed spool reel. I use 18lb line and 60lb shock lead. I have bought a couple of rigs to start off with. I generally use Black lugworm and feed them onto the hook nearly up to the tail end. The rig i generally use has two hooks. I cast out about 70-100 yds and sit and wait. I have fished both high risingdropping and low tide. Am i just unlucky?
Has anyone have any suggestions that may help to catch SOMETHING. Please remember i am a complete beginner.</font>

·
Registered
39 Posts
<font color='#000000'>Sounds quite unlucky...don&#39;t forget to refresh your bait every 20mins or so, the saltwater will soon leech the flavour of the lug

Is your line tight? Use a gripper lead and tighten the line up so you can see the bite, on a slack line the fish will tend to theive the bait before you&#39;ve noticed.

Is your barb exposed? If not the fish can easily nibble away without getting spiked.

Good luck&#33;</font>

·
Registered
2,947 Posts
<font color='#000000'>The big question Barnaby is do you fish at night or in the day? Night fishing is generally the most productive as the fish tend to come in a lot closer under the cover of darkness.