World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
View attachment 1120251 hi all
im new to sea fishing having only really taken a keen interest from early this year.
had the chance to get to angelsey for a couple of days fishing this weekend so thought i would start at gallows point for low tide and fish until Malcoms shop opened for me to get some bait other than the mackerel i had got from asda.
I got there at 07:00 ish and was greeted by a fantastic sunrise.

20180928_071539-Exposure.jpg

Started fishing using a pulley pennel with mackerel as bait, was hoping to get a ray as i have had thornbacks from this mark earlier in the year, within 5 minutes i had my first bite of the day which felt heavy but not heavy enough for a ray, and so started the run of the dogs.
20180928_080334-Exposure - Copy.jpg

dont get me wrong, i love catching dogs but they were coming out every 5 to 10 mins and there were no rays in sight.
after 2 and half hours of pulling dogs out ( 12 by this point ) the tide was now on the rise and i decided to call it quits for this mark and go get some bait from malcoms.
Headed over to Moelfre to spend the rest of the day. Sticking to the pulley pennel but now with a choice of bait i loaded with squid heads and threw out as far as i possibly could in the distant hope that there might b e the odd hungry smooth hound still around, ten minutes later my rod was quivering, thought my bait would have been to big for whiting but they had other ideas.
20180928_111624-Exposure.jpg

Feeling confident as i had landed plenty of fish so far i carried on with the pulley pennel and squid heads ( still after my first smoothy ) managed to get plent of dogs out which was fun but nothing else coming out for me.

this is how my day carried on, i was having tons of fun but only getting dogs and whiting.