World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone help?

I am a true beginner to fishing and need any advice anyone can give me - from strength of line I'll need, size of hooks, how to use my reel (I am serious!), to what bait to use and anything else that you think would be useful.

Thanks

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi Gibbsy.... :)

How long is a piece of string?

It depends where you're fishing, what you're hoping to catch etc..but I guess 20lb line covers most situations, hooks from size 4 to 4/0, leads from 1oz to 5oz plain and gripped. Most tackle shops will sell ready made rigs, some aimed at a particular species, but a general 2-3 hook rig with size 2 hooks would be a good start.

Do you have a local Angling club? They should be able to give you advice as should your tackle shop and the magazines..

Talk to other anglers in your area I'm sure they won't bite (a bit like the fish lately....)

Good luck and enjoy!!

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Welcome to WSF Gibbsy.
AS the previous post says...Read all the links on the site and ask as many questions as you can. All the lads and lasses on here started somewhere
and we are all more than happy to share info.
Whereabouts are you bud?
All the best
Terry F. :) :)

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
hi gibbsy

have you read the main tackle tips pages on this site and many of the other pages too.

if you have a tackle shop in town that sells fishing gear ask them, some owners are anglers themselves and will only be too happy to help.

where do you live? are you close to the sea? if you are take a walk along the beach and ask any anglers you see.... most will help you out.

Please don't think that you must buy the most expensive tackle, rods or reels to start off with... If you really enjoy sea fishing after a few months then look at the more expensive gear. it will save you a great deal of money in the long run...

have a great time in a great sport

Michael :)

·
Registered