World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

Im new to fishing full stop, though am picking things up fast, im just buying all my equipment and i have bought a 12" rod and bought this rod rest as well

ebay item No 110115944549

Are these any good? im not sure now though would love your opinions on this.

Thanks
Steve

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
I wouldn't use it in a storm, it doesn't look to have a lot of weight to it. It does look like it'd do for your average pleasure angler, but there're no cups down the bottom to hold the rods so the butt'll be on the ground, but it should do the job if that doesn't bother you too much.

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
dont use tripods myself but they look ok , i dont trust twist lock systems as they seem to fail after a time on certain stuff our mop to name one thing
bit pricey when postage is taken into account for me

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys for your replys, i will be buying thr tripod with the cups on eventually, i just needed something to do me for now. If and when i do go an buy the tripod with the cups on, do you recommend anywhere?

Thanks
Steve

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Ian Golds are good, and although others criticise them I use a Mustad one myself, dunno where you'd get one, I live in Ireland and buy large stuff locally, only normally get small bits and bobs through the internet.

·
Registered
89 Posts
hi got thoes in aldi and lidi's for £5 same bit flimsy .but do to start with for that price got some stuff in not bad not good theo lol.cheap for starting with paul

·
Registered
89 Posts
hi got thoes in aldi and lidi's for £5 same bit flimsy .but do to start with for that price got some stuff in not bad not good theo lol.cheap for starting with paul
also got 12ft off ebay s/peare contender. good price s##t rod shatterd sunday had to tape up so could use could have spoilt day. but not catching did that lol. never mind always next time..