World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bit strange this........I'm mostly a salmon/ brown trout/ sea trout river fisher, but started as a kid in the mid-70's fishing from boats out of Girvan and Arbroath. My best fish was a 16lb cod from Girvan around 1978.
Nostalgia and all that, but I hear those days are long gone.

Anyway, I now have 2 kids just under 10 who are keen to go fishing and I reckoned "it was good enough for me......", so I'm looking to get them out on a couple of boats. Problem is, I'm basically a newbie to boat fishing (only done it twice in the last 15 years or so), so I'm here seeking some advice.
Firstly, are Girvan/ Arbroath fishing ok off the boats and what's the best time of year to go there? Typically, a few mackerel for sport, but more importantly a couple of nice Cod for the table would be lovely.

Secondly, I fished from a boat out of Scrabster about 15 years ago and would like to do that again, but would like to know the best time to book.

I have a couple of other questions, but that will do for now.

Many thanks for any advice

·
Registered
467 Posts
not sure about girvan but arbroath will see you good for some mackerel and cod!

·
Registered
270 Posts
Hi mate

Try John/Keith S****ie on 01241 875453 or 07543005908,they'll take small parties/individuals out of Arbroath, best to book now even if your not going out for a few weeks.
We used squid and mackerel strip on bottom two hooks of hokkais/feathers/shrimp rigs, and supermarket prawns(red ones) seemed to work as well.

IMHO the sea down at Girvan might have to much of a swell for young kids
(my mates 10yr old didn't like it at all but he was fine out of Arbroath and Portpatrick even in November).

If you don't have any luck with John try Jim S****ie(no relation) on
01241 873957.

Hope this helps........Tight lines

Eck.

·
Banned
1,597 Posts
Look for Tony Wass and his boat The Rachael Clare from Girvan.:1a:

Tonys details

·