World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I assume most of you have seen the threads posted on the south east forum about the amount of bait being washed up. I am talking about good quality lug (blacks & yellow tails) Razors by the ton and queens. Given this influx of free bait realistically if stored correctly how long will this keep and still be viable?

·
Registered
63 Posts
Ive collected lots of free offerings of clams, razors and queen cckles and have filled my freezer with them. Ive been doing that for a few years now and I find they last a year or more and can be refrozen if not all used on a session. Catch plenty of bass on this free bait mainly on beaches.

·
Registered
114 Posts
The key to keeping bait is the prep work.

For example, i have purchased black lug wrapped in paper with the ends showing, which makes part of the worm useless..
Tips

wrap in magazine paper to stop the juices soaking into paper, then place in freezer bag and cover with newspaper. A bit of work but it works!!
Baits will last.

·
Registered
2,888 Posts
i wrap mine in paper and then cling film stops them drying out , get down the beach and get stocked up mate !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
22 Posts
There is certainly a lot about currently although an interesting point has been what will be the long term affect on certainly the lug worm locally. How long are they likely to take to recover?

·
Registered
2,522 Posts
shellfish will last for ever as long as you don't let it dry out. put in sealable sandwich bags and don't let the juices drain out.

you can re freeze as many times as you like. the more the better if you ask me. the fish are looking for rotting shell fish that has been buried then scurfed out by a big see so will be natural for them, and have a stronger scent trail.