World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this sea fishing lark and would like to throw some feathers at Mackerel this weekend. Where would be the best place to go to get some easy Mackerel?

Any help appreciated!

·
Registered
212 Posts
They're showing in numbers all over, hayling seafront on a high or sandy point over a low, as long as the weathers good and you can get a decent cast out (as they seem to be quite far out). Or Southsea pier early morning before everyone turns up.
Rich

·
Registered
182 Posts
last week you couldn't get a bait on the bottom at chesil for mackerel then they went missing again it's a bit hit and miss but there are some there, dusk is usually a good time, depends on how far you want to travel

·
Banned
1,206 Posts
Thanks guys, I am in Leatherhead so somewhere like Hayling Island would be handy
Hi cc1984, dont want to **ss on your fire but i wouldnt rush to hayling if i were you, Ive been trying there since may for mackrel and only had three in total, its bloody hard work:thumbdown it seems you got to travel miles for the mackrel this year unless you live down west:fishing:

Riki 79 did you try pagham for mackrel? any luck if so where abouts/tide time.
cheers steve

·
Registered
200 Posts
I am on holiday this week and have done a bit of fishing. Had good catches of Mackie from Seaford beach, Brighton Marina and Shoreham Harbour and West Arm. Worthing peir is also turning them up I understand so no need to rush down to Chesil just drop downthe A24 or A23/A27 and you should catch some if its sunny.
Had most success on a four hook set of Silver Tinsil Feathers.:idea:
Good Luck

·
Registered
212 Posts
Alright Steve, I can see what you're saying about hayling as I've been down there loads this year trying, but the last two times I've been out there they're been about I had 8 last time over low tide and could have taken a load but didnt need any more.