World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
*I'm fairly new to the world of sea fishing and i was just wandering, in people's opinions, what the best line to use might be. At the minute my fishing buddy and I bought a cheap standard egg beater each with 25lb line on it. We would like to change it, so advice please people. Cheers.

·
Registered
386 Posts
I really like 20lb red gardiner surf for fishing over mixed ground. It casts really well, stands up to abrasion, and when you are snagged it breaks at the leader knot and not half way between your rod tip and leader like alot of lines!.
For clean ground fishing i'm down to the last of my orange ultima f1 in 15lb. A great casting line, but now they have gone under, i'll probably use the gardiner in 15lb. I also use a clear 80lb gardiner leader for both clean and rough ground fishing.

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Suffix tritainium seems to get a lot of praise. I seem to remember a breaking point test a few years back in which it which came out on top. I keep meaning to try it myself but haven't got round to ordering some yet. I've used Daiwa sensor or tournament for a few years and I've got few complaints, the sensor is a bit more flexible but the tournament is a bit stiffer IMO. The Okuma brand of mono I've used too when I've not been able to get the Daiwa and it does the job too.

·
Registered
7 Posts
ultima f1 black 15 pound line,good strong line you can buy it in various spool sizes,did go out of business but now resurfacing,got no complaints and a nice strong thin diameter line.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Hi,

imo as with most things difficult to answer as some guys will swear by product x and others will swear at product x.. basically what works for one guy someone else using same brand of rod / reel / line / hook etc had a bad experience