World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone
Im new to shore fishing and would like to get set up for rock and beach casting.
I currently have a decent beachcasting rod and i have £100 to spend on a multiplier reel. Anyone got any advice to which are the best ones out there? I am looking something that will easily handle a conger eel. Can stretch to £120 if there will be a big jump in performance.
Thanks in advance

·
The Cod Obsessed one.
15,554 Posts
Look at the daiwa slosh reels.
Just a pointer, many rock anglers are now using fixed spool reels filled with braid.
Something to think about before spending your hard earned cash.

·
Registered
8,883 Posts
Thanks for the replies guys! Sl30 it is then

There ok if have hands like shovels as spool sits high on the rod Slosh's was ok till the Fathom arrived Fathom just does everything they did and far more Fathom 15 from Weymouth Angling £110 15 over the 12 if running .40 plus if looking for distance close/rock wise either.
Easy to do the brake mod so use the ABU/Daiwa blocks or mag em if like to but blocks work ok
Metal frame/cage over slosh plastic

Other reel if can find for price is the Daiwa Saltist 20-30's

But for the money! unless getting something stone cold sober deal Fathom 15 all day every day will do everything you want and more ie on the rocks,Pier,uptiding,Distance casting plus even if magged still have a ratchet which many of the others you loose like slosh

Another reel that's still good if can find a decent one that the welsh rock guys love is the Shimano speedy IICFS the original hi speed reel(just watch for play in handle from drag stack as a bush bearing in cage.But can be modded to fit a ball bearing)
That casts very well decent line amount also.
Ive 2 ones Original CFS rarely used and other IIC magged but kept ratchet!

·
Registered
5,610 Posts