World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi lads,

im after a spinning/pugging rod and reel for bass, pollock and wrasse. what sort of makes would you use if you had £100 to play with.....

im new to this sort of fishing (rock mainly) so any tips would be great too.

Jamie

·
Registered
11,139 Posts
wow.... the range is vast and you,ll find that everyone here will have there own combination. i personaly have 3 different combinations to suit differing situations and species.

dont go for the cheapest and there is absolutely no need to go for the very best.

get a medium spinning rod casting up to 50 grm and not too short. 10ft min.

a 45 or 50 sized fixed spool reel. okumas are great for the price so are some of the penns.

you could even possibly pic up a penn combo with some of the above specs.

some will say get a carp rod and i have a couple i use but they are not designed for holding for long lengths of time and most have a soft through action.

·
Registered
1,896 Posts
Jamie take a look at the Shimano Beastmaster or Exage travel spinning rods. It won't be too long before you appreciate having a rod that you can fit into a suitcase or pull out of the boot of the car to do a bit of fishing wherever you may be.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts