World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

After last week where I missed out on a good few hook ups and yesterday where I had a nice fish on who charged to freedom as I tried to hand line him onto the rocks, I am looking to change trebles on said standard gunfish 115.

ayone recommend a size and type that they like to use?

thanks in advance for your help.

WSF Primary Administrator.
Hi All,

After last week where I missed out on a good few hook ups and yesterday where I had a nice fish on who charged to freedom as I tried to hand line him rocks, I am looking to change trebles on said standard gunfish 115.

ayone recommend a size and type that they like to use?

thanks in advance for your help.
I have been using the VMC hooks for a few years now but not totally convinsed about the rust proofing on them as they are just plated and this tends to come off when you run them round a split ring.
Got one of those feed shallow lures from Mick and like the look of the hooks on them but I dont know where you would get them from.

Registered
The hooks on the Feed Shallow look good and will be fine for most bass, but when a big one needs bullying they can snap. The hooks on your Gunfish are probably not saltwater hooks, but they might be if you bought saltwater Gunfish. Anyway, the best hooks I have found that do not spoil the lures movements at all are Decoys, they are fairly saltwater proof, in other words if you give them a slight rinse they last for a whole season at least. If you don't rinse them they will do the best part of a season anyway. If you cant find them in your local tackle shop let me know and i can get you some.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cheers Guys,

I think the hooks on my gunfish are standard bronzed ones, Im not totally blaming them on the lack of hooks ups and lost fish but some how I cant help but think they are not quite up to the job, paranoia on my behalf!