World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can anyone advise me on a bream rig so i can catch a bream on pwellheli beach.im a beginner and i have fished this beach 3 times and blanked everytime.seen a guy with a cork on his rig sunday is this the way to go,get the bait of the bottom.i used a bought bream rig from the tackle shop in criccieth with a strip of squid and a strip of mackeral also which is the best tide to fish?any help much appreciatedalso is it best to fish 1rod long and 1 short.:thumbs:

·
She Pirate and Global Moderator
12,629 Posts
Just use the rig you bought, and make a few coppies of it. it sounds like you where doing everything correct. i use cork sometimes to keep the bait of the bottom away from crabs, fish the incoming tide on the beach, or fish low on the harbour entrance.... good luck.

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
One thing I would advise is to keep your hooks small i.e.size 10 or 12(freshwater)baited with a small strip of squid!

·
Registered
2,087 Posts
think it was me who came over to see if you had caught anything,to which you replied you have only just started fishing and had yet to catch a fish.Dont worry no one caught that day,probably tide too small.if it was you then the only thing i would say is that you had hooks a bit on the big size and too much bait on them. small slivers of bait is all you need ,and a float 3ft above will help.having said all that,it was my first go for bream that day so will be back with the bigger tides coming soon,may see you there good luck,ffd

·
Registered
11,285 Posts
i use a 2 hook rig. a flapper will do or clipped for distance if they are further out. size 4 hooks are ideal.

on the botom hook use a couple of bright beads.

on the top hook i use a 15mm floating bead trapped 4in from the hook. this will keep the thin strip of mackerel about 2ft off the bottom. a piece of foam or cork taped to the line will do the same job.