World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 16ft speedboat and I would like to do some fishing within the Plymouth Sound or surrounding areas.

I was watching a fishing programme the other day and they were pulling up all sorts between devils point and the torpoint ferries.

I have never done boat fishing before, would I be able to go out to the breakwater and try my luck on the boat. How do I can about catching the fish out on the breakwater and what area is the best to go

Can I go out there with a rod and try to float a few sandeels and see what happens

Thanks for your help

·
Registered
17 Posts
Yeah, I've seen the same programme - always surprised me though as fishing from a boat is marked as being prohibited in lower reaches of the Tamar (basically from the dockyard to the sound - and large parts of the sound as well!). Plymouth waters are regulated by the dockyard port of plymouth order - it can be found here...

http://www.opsi.gov.uk/SI/si1999/uksi_19992029_en.pdf

Can anyone shed any light on how rigorously the fishing rules are enforced? I know they (MOD plod, QHM etc) are hot on speeding, which also forms part of this legislation...

As to fishing the breakwater, landing is prohibited, and fishing is banned in the western and eastern channels (either end of the breakwater).

You can usually find mackerel along the front of the breakwater and there are some nice pinnacles in front of the eastern end of the breakwater that usually produce pollack.

·
Registered
313 Posts
I have fished from my mates boat many times in the tamar and had no problem. The police will sometimes buzz ya to see what your upto. As long as you dont go too close too the yard or anchor up in a main shipping lane you should be ok ( common sense rearly).:boat:

·
Registered
20 Posts