World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I'm fairly new to bottom fishing bait from the shore. I don't do sand beaches, all rocks by me.
So far, I make my self comfortable and hold the rod, enjoy the view and anticipation.
I recently had a light bulb moment and thought if I could get something to hold my bait rod whilst waiting for the bite I could carry on spinning or float fishing with another rod. Thus doubling my chances of a catch, and obviously working my chosen area in two different ways at the same time increasing my chances again.
Waffle, waffle, I guess you guys know this already.
Now, I know beach anglers use tripods, but are they suitable for the rocks, ie. adjustable legs etc?

What do you guys do and can you recommend something to me?

Dave.

·
Registered
550 Posts
Yes you can get tripods with adjustable legs which work well on uneven rock surfaces.

I have found the best way to get a bite on a bottom fished bait is to stop looking at the rod. I believe they use the same principle as a watched kettle never boils.

Some one else once postulated the mono filament line acts like a fibre optic cable resulting in a 360 degree illuminated picture show of the area immediately surrounding the fishing rod being projected on the darker sea bed. Thus allowing the fish to see when you step back to take a pee, open your flask and look away, take your tobacco pouch out and lean back to roll a fat one. At that point usually at least 6 whiting, 4 flatties and a larger fish ( they take it in turns) all rush to have a bite at your bait. This is where the faster whiting who are able to consume a bait 9.8 times larger than there mouth opening usually win the race, snatch your bait swallow it whole and prevent the more desirable larger fish having a nibble .

No seriously just try rolling a ciggi it never fails to make a rod bend .

·
Registered
8,195 Posts
So it doesn't just happen to me then? :laugh:

·