World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi extremely new to kayak fishing. Looking for some advice on how far to go out (bear in mind I'm a novice)/rigs to use? Should I remain stationary or can you kayak along while rig is trailing?

I know southbourne is producing huge amounts of small plaice and sole with the odd Ray and smoothie. Looking to find out how far I have to go out to start catching the bigger ones and other species.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,119 Posts
Hi extremely new to kayak fishing. Looking for some advice on how far to go out (bear in mind I'm a novice)/rigs to use? Should I remain stationary or can you kayak along while rig is trailing?

I know southbourne is producing huge amounts of small plaice and sole with the odd Ray and smoothie. Looking to find out how far I have to go out to start catching the bigger ones and other species.

Thanks
Do you know how to paddle, if not leave the rods at home and learn to paddle first

·
Registered
102 Posts
Hello mate I get down Southbourne a fair bit . For the rays i normally anchor in 40ft its easier to tie onto a pot bouy if your new to anchoring. Last Sunday i had 6 undies a thornie and plenty of mackies just by the yellow bouys (down towards hengistbury), there were a few decent plaice coming out to the boats drifting just inside of where i was . Hoping to get down there early Thurs weather permiting

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hello mate I get down Southbourne a fair bit . For the rays i normally anchor in 40ft its easier to tie onto a pot bouy if your new to anchoring. Last Sunday i had 6 undies a thornie and plenty of mackies just by the yellow bouys (down towards hengistbury), there were a few decent plaice coming out to the boats drifting just inside of where i was . Hoping to get down there early Thurs weather permiting
How far out do you have to be to be in 40ft of water approx?

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #10