World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After spending a couple of hours on the net searching for advice about braid I've decided to have a go. However still not sure what lb main line and and leader to go for. I'm currently using mono 20lb main line to 60 shock leader. I've seen a couple of posts where people are using 50lb braid straight through but surely the tide and wind will have an affect. I thought 1 advantage of braid was a smaller diameter!! Would 20 to 60 in braid be a good place to start ??
I fish Chesil beach often and Dungeness a couple of times a year at the moment.
Thanks in advance Simon

·
Registered
2,545 Posts
I have been using superbraids for 14 years.I use mainly powerpro35lb b.s.and 28lb
"Tracer"yellow/black, each section is 5 feet long. The braids float, useful if trying grim areas as a quick retrieve lifts the weight out of harms way.

PTR

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
I would go for any breaking strain braid mainline but a braid leader of 80-100lb. It will cut the tide much better than mono but it does put pressure on you sinker hold especially in a rough sea. 15kg powerpro is my favourite for all round fishing and would be a good choice for beach up to mixed/heavy ground. You can go heavier but you will be surprised how strong it is.

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
Don't mix and match your line types. A mono leader with braid will give nothing but problems, crack offs, ring wraps, lost rings etc. There are loads of threads on this and it's been done to death. For lobbing you will get away with it but feed the power in and that's when the problems start.

·
Registered
5,863 Posts
I use 6oz leads and 14lb braid with varivas tapered leaders and have no problems. Give it some welly, that's the whole point of fixed spool and long rods.