World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just got 50lbs braid and as i have never used it before is ther a certain way to put it on my reel?

G

·
Hi Alan

Welcome to WSF.

Assuming you have a small / medium amount (less than 300m) spool of line then try the following.

Load the reel about 2/3 full of normal mono as you would normally.
Join the mono to the braid (someone help with a diagram of a braid / mono knot) and the tightly wind on te braid exactly as you would mono.
When I say tightly, this is important otherwise it can bed down on itself and jam up.
Get to within a couple of mm of the lip of the spool and the add a 5m or so mono leader using the same briad knot that I hope someone else will be able to show you a picture of (describing it is complex).

·
Registered
476 Posts
Not sure if this is the correct knot, but I'm sure there is one on the site somewhere. Click here.

G

·
That knot won't work, but the albright knot is I think the one I use.
In the animation, the blue line is the braid and I (probably excessively) wrap around about 15 times.

·
Banned
7 Posts
That knot won't work, but the albright knot is I think the one I use.
In the animation, the blue line is the braid and I (probably excessively) wrap around about 15 times.
Loop the braid to double the braid before knotting it and use a double UNI knot to join braid to mono. It is an exceptionaly strong knot. The single UNI with the braid doubled is great for swivels etc.

·
Registered
476 Posts
Cheers Tom,
wasn't sure if it was the right one as I've yet to be converted to Braid ;)

·
Registered
701 Posts