World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

This has happened to me twice this year. I have put new GOOD line on my reel and it keeps going brittle so bad that I have lost fish and I can break it with my hands?? Any ideas what could be causing this? I am new to sea fishing but am presuming its not the salt?

·
Registered
2,837 Posts
what do you call good line? could be bad batch, are you cleaning the reel off using freashwater after every trip, is the line left in sunlight for long periods of time after fishing.

·
Registered
656 Posts
Hi

Sounds like this might be sun-damaged line or possibly poor
quality-control by that brand.

I have found in the past that stiff monos 'crack' more easily than soft, limp lines.

Stick to good brands like Daiwa Tournament or Penn Super Surf (if you can still get it) for multiplier use. Maxima and Suffix are also good brands.

A lot of fixed spool users have turned to braid, but keep to sensible diameters to avoid abrasion damage.

:bye1:

·
Registered
26,754 Posts
I'm still using the remains of a large reel of yellow Stren I bought in Singapore in 1981. It's still fine, but It's always been kept out of the sun.
Only time it's given trouble was when (after many feathering sessions) my tip ring became grooved and was shredding the line.

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
thanks all reckon I need to wash it more
I've never directly washed my reel line. Rinse the reels under the tap after most sessions but thats it. Replace line fairly regularly though so I guess that helps. It's a good call to check your rings particularly the tip one for cracks and chips in the liner as these can easily cause line problems :whistling

What particular line are you having problems with? Some lines are well known for breaking far too easily ;)

·
Registered
728 Posts