World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading through the online bait thread and was wondering why everyone buys frozen mackerel from a bait shop instead of buying fresh mackerel from Tesco's, morrisons etc on the day they go fishing.

I am new to sea fishing so I appologise if its a stupid question but surely A: Tesco's is cheaper and B: Fresh is better than mushy frozen.

Please enlighten me

thanks
Ian

·
Registered
25,234 Posts
If its fresh then its obviously better than mackeral that hasnt been frozen properly,judging by the quality of mackeral ive seen on supermarket counters then even mushy frozen is better,wouldnt use supermarket mackeral as bait let alone eat it only good for potbait imo.

·
The Cod Obsessed one.
15,553 Posts
Im yet to see a fish on the supremarket counter that is fresh.

Fresh to me is under 12 hrs old and has been on ice since capture.

Thats why people buy frozen. It is reported to be blast frozen soon after capture.

·
Registered
1,051 Posts
I was in my local asda store with the mrs and i thought i might see if they had any fresh macky ant the one's on the counter had black sunken eyes so i asked the fish monger if they were the best he had he said why ?? so i said they are not fresh look at them he said how can you tell ?? i said the eyes give it away they should be bright and clear,
He said i got some in the fridge that havent been opened so ha got the box out opened it and the fish were just the same but floating in about 3" of blood water so how long had they been there,
I dont recon these supermarkets have fishmongers they are just staff put on the counter to sell,
So if you want to buy fresh go to a fish monger they know their trade or go bust

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the replies, that answered my question. I will need to answer it for myself, so I will do an experiment and report my findings.