World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if this is a good way to lure fish for bass off the south east coast of England for bass and other fish

·
Read Only
2,032 Posts
Like many methods it can be deadly at times. Great when the bass are fixated when feeding on the bottom.
I tend to use this technique in rough ground and with a lure with plenty of movement in the tail.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I got some of them red gill sandeels but the hook is underneath I was gonna stick a jig head on there and have the hook facing upwards to avoid snags then I heard about the carolina rig. I'm new to bass fishing. So it's really difficult to learn since I dont know anyone that does it. I will be beach casting. I'll have one rod with a weight on the bottom and a wire boom a foot or 2 up from the weight with basic rig with a lug or rag worm but I also want to do a more active type of fishing. I have a spin rod which I plan to use, while waiting for a bite on the other rod, with lures but trying to work out the best way to do it. Are wire tracers necessary for bass or is fluorocarbon enough?

·
Registered
775 Posts
If you’re fishing on a beach, just grab any 30g metal you’d normally use for mackerel, chuck it out and reel it in with a varied retrieve.

A popular metal people are using a lot at the moment is the savage gear seeker in 28g. Launch that out and wind it back slow and you’ll find bass... If they’re there.

·
Read Only
2,032 Posts
If you’re fishing on a beach, just grab any 30g metal you’d normally use for mackerel, chuck it out and reel it in with a varied retrieve.

A popular metal people are using a lot at the moment is the savage gear seeker in 28g. Launch that out and wind it back slow and you’ll find bass... If they’re there.
Yes I agree entirely, working it through the water column and plenty of other methods and lures to try.