World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I've just registered after recently getting into sea fishing. I was practising my casting yesterday (off the ground and pendulum) using a Daiwa Emblem 5000 and an Abu Beachcaster. I found that about 5 times out of 10 the bail arm would flick over during the cast resulting in a crack-off. I wasn't really thumping it either, just trying to get a smooth technique going. Does anyone know what was causing this?, is it the reel, my technique, or something else?! Hope you can help! Tricky :)

·
Registered
67 Posts
Hi,im new to this myself and i use a fixed spool.when i cast i make sure the bail arm goes to the right lookingdown on it with rod in hand so as the line goes nowhere near it.i use a daiwa emcast 5500 and never had it close on me.

hope this helps a bit

·
Registered
992 Posts
I recall this happening to my mate Bill quite often until he had a serious "Basil Fawlty" moment with the reel and a pair of pliers. After a few seconds of frantic activity and copious "I've had it with you" quotes he ended up with a reel with only the line roller part of the bail arm left. He just puts the line under the roller after casting to tension up and reel in etc and takes it out from under the roller to cast. No more infuriating crack offs :D

·
Registered
158 Posts
i think i read somewhere on this site something about a rubber band with a piece of hooked wire attatched to it then put onto the reel seat so you can hook the bail arm to stop it snapping. i've found the bail arm on the right trick works myself personally.
Cheers
Paul

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
Apart from the rather ingenious (but drastic) measures to correct this. Isn't this possibly a malfunction in the bail arm lock.

If this is a fairly new reel - could you take it back for a new one.

I use multipliers mostly, but have never experienced this with the fixed spools reels I have used.

·
Registered
13 Posts