World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
2,351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just bought a T800, half of which is currently at the rod builders getting high build over the sticker, I am now looking for the next step up, stronger more powerful casting rod. I dont need it yet but it would be nice to have one on board so I can check my progress as I go.

The obvious answer is T900 but I had such a **** time of buying a new T800 I am not keen to buy another new top money rod this month.

Would an Excaliber J or C curve be a more powerful rod for casting over grass? Or should I hold out for the T900? What sort of money should I pay for a used C or J curve?

Otherwise Zziplex, what would be a better casting rod than a T800? I am thinking M4 Evo or one of the Bullets but I have little experience of the current Zippys and only own a 4500 at the minute.

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
Personally (just my opinion) I think it depends if you're looking for casting or fishing rods. Even that statement depends on your personal casting style....

The T900 just shades it over the C curve (in my opinion) but a bit long for rock ledges though....my way.

on the zzippy side I have used and owned the Dymic LT14, M4 and M427. For me the M427 too powerful, the Dymics were distance rods the M4 closest to a fishing rod but allround I prefer my T900's for Bristol channel, great tips, easy action !

Before it all kicks off this is just my opinion and not an attempt to start of a zzippy vs Century war

Musky

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Id say stick to what you have as you will get used to the action /feel..you dont need a stronger rod for casting...its plenty capable...you might. ..prefer a carbon tip for casting as i do but to start with,stick to what you have...the t800 and t900 are far superior to the c curves and j curves..superb rods..

·
Registered
10,229 Posts