World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I live in Belfast and I want to catch my first cod this winter (It doesn't have to be a giant to make me happy)

I was wondering if around Donagadee, Carrickfergus, Bangor, Brown's Bay etc. would have some cod. Is there any spots you guys would recommend, hopefully somewhere not too far away from Belfast? I don't mind beach fishing but I'm not very good at casting very far and I know that you do need to cast pretty far out to catch cod.

I've got pulley rigs, made out of 60lb mono, with 3/0 hooks, and I've got a 3/4metre long rod and a tough reel, so I think I've got most of the equipment (but if you have anything interesting to tell me please don't hesitate)

Any rigs, tips, bait, advice etc. would also be very appreciated!

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
not from your area but tackle sounds fine ,just need a coddy spot and fishing after darkis better at most marks ...use big smelly baits...best baits change from area to area but won't go wrong with big squid and lug wraps...also peeler and mackeral very good some places

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
not from your area but tackle sounds fine ,just need a coddy spot and fishing after darkis better at most marks ...use big smelly baits...best baits change from area to area but won't go wrong with big squid and lug wraps...also peeler and mackeral very good some places
OK cheers! 👍

·
Registered
273 Posts
Have a had few red codling around Bangor on lures a lot of Small’s but got this last summer rock codling red codling was stunning fish gd scrap on the lrf gear caught about ten yards in about 3-5ft of water lovely colours too at a guess bout 2lb was about 50-55cm had some gurth too. Ur best bet would be Antrim coast but even there they r very scarce only had small smick codlings on Antrim coast that codling in the pic is my biggest from shore

·
Registered
1,655 Posts