World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

Have a 2000 Mariner 4/ 90hp, just had it services which included: trailer boat out of water and relaunching after (boat moored next to ramp, workshop 50yrds away from ramp), preseason service incl. oil change , filter change, new impeller, new anode, take off gear box and service waterpump, top up batteries etc., new trim sender, new battery cables, and 2nr new battery box (Supply only). I have just received the bill for that little lot in the sum of £873! £200 for parts, the rest on labour. This seems extremely expensive to me but it's my first year with this size engine so looking for some feedback fom you guys to your experience of service costs. I'm based in Channel Islands, so cost are normally a bit more here than on the mainland and also lack of choice on who to go to.

Thanks in advance

Tippers

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
Hi Guys,

Have a 2000 Mariner 4/ 90hp, just had it services which included: trailer boat out of water and relaunching after (boat moored next to ramp, workshop 50yrds away from ramp), preseason service incl. oil change , filter change, new impeller, new anode, take off gear box and service waterpump, top up batteries etc., new trim sender, new battery cables, and 2nr new battery box (Supply only). I have just received the bill for that little lot in the sum of £873! £200 for parts, the rest on labour. This seems extremely expensive to me but it's my first year with this size engine so looking for some feedback fom you guys to your experience of service costs. I'm based in Channel Islands, so cost are normally a bit more here than on the mainland and also lack of choice on who to go to.

Thanks in advance

Tippers
I am not going to be very help full in reducing the bill but here goes.......

Did you find out PRIOR to giving them the job their hourly rate of charge?