World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

As a newcomer firstly I'll just say great site.

You'll notice from my user name that there's an s on the end of Dingwall. Thats because there are 2 of us my 9 year old son and myself primarily (my wife and 4 year old will join us occasionally I hope). As complete novices we've an awful lot to learn and as you'll appreciate up in my neck of the woods most of the fishing is for salmon and trout so not too much in the way of local expertise with regards to sea stuff!
A few things I would like to know (to start with that is!). We will be shore fishing with a choice of shallow sandy or deep and rocky.

1) What should I fish for?
2) Is there a guide as to what to fish for on a monthly basis?
3) Can I eat all that I catch? (I know about the weaver species)

Heres hoping that someone out there can advise

·
One Life - Fish it!
5,009 Posts
Hello the Dunns! :D

Welcome to the site!

I don't know a lot about the coast line up there, but i'm sure somebody will somewhere!

Question1: Cod, Pollack, Flatties and the occasional Bass should be present around there. Conger off the rocks in the deeper places too. I'd suggest if you fish the shallower beaches, you do so at night as it will maximise your chances. Night fishing is usually best for most types of shore angling. From a safety point of view, fish the rocks in the daylight and know your paths up and down well before you venture out at night.

Question 2: Were actually working on something like that for our new version of this site, it doesnt help you now lol, but it should be avaliable for when the new site is avaliable. If you have a scroll through some of our fish species articles you'll get an idea of when the fish will show up and what methods, baits and terrain they respond to best.