World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#000000'>Hi all,

I am planning a trip to Cuba and of course will be doing some fishing. I am looking for any information I can get with regard to tackle, especially in the Fly tackle as I am new to Sea fly fishing. any one got any advice on the type of rods lures reel I should bring ?</font>

D

·
0 Posts
<font color='#000000'>I suspect you&#39;re going to struggle. &nbsp;From what I&#39;ve heard the inshore waters have been largely fished out by locals. &nbsp;And whilst there&#39;re are prolific areas for Bonefish and Tarpon they are in offshore areas in the Marine National Park and normally fished as part of week long packages from a Mothercraft.

So really two suggestions. &nbsp;Firstly in case you are able to hire and guide and a skiff take a 7 or 8 weight rod, preferably with a fast action and a reel with a good drag system holding minimally 200 yards of backing. &nbsp;A tropical forward tapered floating line should do. &nbsp;(You&#39;ll find that most UK lines will just &#39;collapse&#39; in the heat. &nbsp;In terms of flies, weighted flies on 6 or size 4 hooks would suffice. &nbsp;&#39;Gotcha&#39; patterns, simulating shrimps, would work well as would the ubiquitious &#39;Clouser&#39; which relies on action and mimics most prey species. &nbsp;So that outfit would be fine for Bonefish or small Snapper. &nbsp;For the Tarpon, most of which seem to be small fish up to 35lbs or so, you need to step up to a 10 or 12 weight rod, floating or intermediate line, and appropriate fly patterns.