World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new member so I'll start with a good afternoon to all, :)

I am hoping to get down to Southend Pier this weekend for some better Bass and am a bit stuck for bait....

I am new to this Bass hunting game and an therefore wondering as to whether dead-bait Sand Eel might do well, I know they're a killer fished live but do frozens out-score other baits as well...???

Thanks in advance,
Jeff

·
Registered
6,973 Posts
Hi jeff welcome to the site. In a word- no. I have always found worms to be best for bass and if you want a bigger fish put more worms on, mackeral is also good and if they're in the mood peeler crab. I can honestly say I've never caught anything using frozen sandeels but perhaps that's just me.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cheers buddy,

As I suspected, they might not be too high up on the bait list...

The local rag can't get any Rag for love-nor-money so I'm having to go for the less favourable Bass bait of Lug. The schoolies always like it but they eat everything! Bigger Bass, not had one on Lug yet...

We'll see what happens...

Jeff

·
Accepts cakes as bribes.
12,214 Posts
Jeff

Frozen Sandeels can and do catch the odd bass, but they are not really the ideal bait. The problem is that they generally only catch when the water is clear, and when the water is clear the bass are really shy. In murky water they hunt by smell and will go for smelly baits like crab, mackerel and lug. If they can't see a sandeel, no bites!

Then there is the problem with pier fishing. Crabs and doggies will beat bass to the bait every time. Tough innit?

SAndeels don't have to be fished whole. You can cut them into chunks or slice little fillets off them. I generally snip the head and the tail off and fish them with a bit of squid or mackerel. You could even try spinning with one.

Give them a go. You never know your luck in a raffle. Hope this helps. Rob

·