World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As I'm not experience boat angler (yet, haha!) I have some questions to you guys.
Being on drift am I suppose to use the same rigs and techniques as at anchor?
Could you tell what should I avoid when on drift and when at anchor?
When drifting I use feathers only or some lures to get mackerel, bass or pollack. Would it be OK to use some flat fish rigs to chase flatties?

I know that these questions may sound silly to some of you but I have no experienced boat fishing buddies here (only beach guys).
Cheers!

*edited some spellings

·
Registered
784 Posts
Where are you drifting, that's the question.
Are you drifting reefs, sand, wrecks....... as each needs different answers.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Reefs = You can bounce a 2/3 hook paternoster baited with mackerel/squid ect just off bottom, also pirks/jigs direct to line, and you can try shads/redgills ect on a flowing trace of 6 ft + dropped down to the bottom and retrieved, also your feathers will work too (try baiting them with mackerel strips).
Just don't leave it on the bottom or you will loose loads of gear (drop down till you tap bottom and then lift off, feeling for the bottom, and try to keep it vertical to the boat).
Sand/shingle (like off chesil beach) = Long flowing trace with beads/spoons and smaller hooks and weights dragged behind boat, when you get a bite let line out for a count of 15 (ish), put reel back into gear and see if it's hooked itself.
I don't have enough experience of wrecking (but i'm trying to learn), so can't give advice on that.
This is all my own thoughts tho, and there's way more than this you can do.
You tube will be your friend on this as there's loads on there.

·
Registered
1,407 Posts