World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all

just wondering about this dsc thing,im looking to get hold of a radio should i get one with dsc or not , or will a second hand vhf do the same job?
i know what the dsc is all about just that i cant see every boat owner going out and buying a dsc for 100 pound plus,
would i still be able to raise the coastguard on a vhf without dsc????????
:confused:

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
I am by no means an expert but I took the Rya vhf course a few months ago and they advised that in the next few years the coastguard are going to stop actually "listening" for mayday calls instead will rely on the dsc system to alert them, whether this is actually going to be the case who knows!!

I think that is why all new vhfs being sold have dsc on them.

Ryan

·
Registered
18 Posts
solent dave said:
hi all

just wondering about this dsc thing,im looking to get hold of a radio should i get one with dsc or not , or will a second hand vhf do the same job?
i know what the dsc is all about just that i cant see every boat owner going out and buying a dsc for 100 pound plus,
would i still be able to raise the coastguard on a vhf without dsc????????
:confused:
Hi Solent Dave
As you are most probably aware i,m new to boating,anyway enough of that.
As to your question,well i,m as much in the dark as you,but i went to a boat jumble on Sunday,and visited the RNLI stall,got lots of leaflets and the leaflet on radios explains about DSC in one sentence,then in another states use your vhf radio as well,so looking at it a normal VHF is going to be ok.
If anyone really knows i,d like to know as well as Solent Dave.
Regards Larry......

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
The Coastguard stopped a dedicated headphone watch on Ch 16 last year but continue to monitor it on loudspeakers in the control room I think.