World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
2,919 Posts
There is a lot of reactionary crap written about fish farming. Yes, there can be problems with fish farms if badly positioned or run, but that is the exception not the rule.
As a former fish farmer i could address every comment on this thread but it would take for ever.
Comments about 3tons of wid fish producing 1 ton of farmed fish are quite true. But bare in mind that in the wild it takes around 5 - 7tons of wild fish to produce 1 ton of non-farmed fish! So, in a world that needs fish, you could almost argue that replacing wild predatory fish with farmed predatory fish saves wild food fish!
The truth is that farmed fish reduce the pressure on wild stocks. The effects of fish farms are very localised, short lived and easily mitigated. The most difficult aspect (environmentaly) its feed supply but technological advances are rapidly improving artificial feeds and reducing the requirement for fishmeal.

As for restocking the wild, i would like to see a situation where all farms release 2x their annual productions (head of fish) as viable post-larval fry. It is feeding of fry upto and just beyond the larval stage that is most difficult but the space and effort of producing 1000000 or 3000000 fry isnt that different - its the ongrowing to market size that determines a huge fish farm.

Those of you that value your sea angling should encourage and support responsible marine aquaculture, it may be the only thing that stops commercial over exploitation of wild stocks. It worked for UK Salmon.

· Registered
2,919 Posts