World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hows it going?

I am fairly new to sea angling and I was wondering if anyone had boat fished the moray/banff coast from places such as cullen or hopeman? what species/bait and how far oot do you need to go?

Cheers

F

·
0 Posts
There are a few topics on this area already

Here is one for you

Moray Black Isle side

I myself live near to Elgin and regularly fish around Hopeman, Burghead, Lossiemouth and Buckie.

Where abouts are you?

As for the boat fishing scene then i can't really say as i have not boat fished out of Lossiemouth for a while now. I normally boat fish up at Scrabtster and Gairloch

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cheers al

i am also based near elgin but i have done most of my sea fishing on skye. its a bit of a drive though and now i have the boat i would like to try locally. i heard that most of the moray firth had been fished out and to be honest ive never had a great day from the shore. looking at the coastline you would think there would be some decent marks though

F

·
0 Posts
There are some decenish marks around the area. One of the best people to talk to is a fishing tackle shop owner in Elgin called Des. His shop is off the main drag and he is one of the friendlyist persons i have met in fishing. He always tries his best to get you marks to fish.
Pm me for his address and directions if you don't know where his shop is.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
aye i know who you mean, thats great i will speak to him thanks. what sort of species/baits work?

F

·
0 Posts
tangler said:
what sort of species/baits work?
Same as most places really. Flatties like lug (slightly old is better i have found), ragworm with a bit od squid to tip it off. Off the rocks pollock, coalfish, codling and wrasse will fall for most baits like squid, mussel, mackerel and lug.