World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys , im pretty new to this so excuse me if i sound dumb with some of my questions.... Well what i wanna know is im thinking about starting sea fishing and my closest venue i think would be southsea as i live about 45 mins from there in farnborough hampshire, is it very good to fish? . The next question is i do alot of carp fishing so have got fairly decent roads and reels ,which i have used on chessil beach with feathers for mackrel with alot of success. could i use them for basic beach fishing and if so whats a good setup and bait to get a bend in the rod ?.....One other this is it worth using feathers off southsea beach area, will there be a chance of the odd mackrel?? cheers guys , hope you can help me with a few tips!!!

·
Registered
571 Posts
IMHO there are alot more productive beaches to fish than southsea a little further away.

Gilkicker point through to hillhead is where i do most of my beach fishing unless im targetting a specific specie.

If you want mackeral then i would suggest you head off to south parade pier over the high tide, which is one of the more prolific venues for your quarry.

Personnally although the carp rod would be good for spinning and fluff chucking, it would be better left residing next to the puddles you fish.

Most tackle shops deal in the lower end of the market for beginners and tbh a rod and reel which would set you back around 40 quid is the way forward.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply... im gunna head to southsea/portsmouth next week, just to try abit of mackrel fishing with feathers , can anyone give me a good place to go? Ive been told the pier near the boating lake is pretty good??

·
Registered
20,937 Posts