World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, this is probably a question that has been asked many times but im gonna ask it again anyways.

I go fishing quite frequently and most people I see are using multipliers, however I have been fishing on and off for about 22 years and have always used a fixed spool reel. I seem to be far more comfortable with these. I have tried to use a multiplier on several occasions and dont seem to be-able to get the hang of them, i can launch a bait out a fair distance using a fixed spool but cant hit that distance with a multiplier

Question 1, Am I missing out by not using a multiplier?

Question 2, Should I persevere with a multiplier?

Question 3, Is it only novices that use fixed spool reels?

Question 4, If not can someone give me advice on a good fixed spool reel to buy (im gonna spoil myself :))

Any help appreciated guys

Chris

·
Registered
265 Posts
Guys, this is probably a question that has been asked many times but im gonna ask it again anyways.

I go fishing quite frequently and most people I see are using multipliers, however I have been fishing on and off for about 22 years and have always used a fixed spool reel. I seem to be far more comfortable with these. I have tried to use a multiplier on several occasions and dont seem to be-able to get the hang of them, i can launch a bait out a fair distance using a fixed spool but cant hit that distance with a multiplier

Question 1, Am I missing out by not using a multiplier?

Question 2, Should I persevere with a multiplier?

Question 3, Is it only novices that use fixed spool reels?

Question 4, If not can someone give me advice on a good fixed spool reel to buy (im gonna spoil myself :))

Any help appreciated guys

Chris

1. No your not mate, fixed spools have come a long way...go for comfort.

2. A cheap to start won't hurt!

3. I know many experienced anglers that use fixed spools.

4. Shimano Ultegra XSA

·