World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hiya,
im new to the sport of shore fishing and im wondering if there is any rig that is sort of fool proof, somit that can handle all sorts of fish, im looking at going to chesil beach or seaton on saturday, im not expecting to catch anything, its just a learning curve
when is the best time to fish, is it when the tide is coming in or out, i hope someone can help me out
kev

·
Registered
325 Posts
Welcome Kevmac

Like you, I am a beginner. You will find that these are a great bunch of guys, and are always patient with us novices. As little as I know, I can tell that you need to go to the left hand side of the page and start reading. You will be amazed how much you will find out in a short period.

Just to clarify one point for you, the rods and reels are usually called tackle, the bits on the end that do the catching are called rigs.

Fred

·
Registered
325 Posts
Kevmac

Just realised you posted the pic of the fish seeking identification. Either you are a very quick learner, or a very lucky beginner.

Fred

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hiya fred
it wasnt me who caught that fish i was just repling to the thread, but i will let you know how i get on saturday, if i catch anything no matter how big or small i will try and take a pic and post it on here
kev

·
Registered
235 Posts
i don,t think there is such a thing as a fool proof rig its a case of what,s working on the day. do you make your own rigs or use shop bought? try to make some of your own and when you catch on them it gives you a real boost . look on the left hand panel under rigs and knots all you need to no to get u started. i make all my own rigsnever used a shop bought one yet but that could be me being tight fisted (haha) give it a go mate tie your own.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6