World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
3,971 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
...... so following mine and Jimmy's succesful Plaice fishing trip to Seaford, I felt it would be simply rude not to also have a raid upon your yummy south coast Sole. With this in mind I once again consulted boi Bob (Goldenoldie) regarding a suitable South coast venue. Bob duly came up with what sounded like an excellent spot with lots of potential, the identity of which I shall not reveal here and now out of respect for the man and his kindness.

My target was simply the same one which I have been pursuing for a few years now, namely a 2lb Sole. As despite catching hundreds of them flat Eels, including some crackers to 1lb 15oz, that magic '2' has always eluded me. As in my neck of the woods, a shore caught 2lb Sole, is possibly as rare as a 'proper' Cod, or a non stunted Ting!

So having sussed a venue, what was now needed was a travelling partner, Jimmy was again keen but predisposed on this occasion, and despite lots of other peeps wishing to join me, none were able to make it this past Sunday. Then Chipmunk Pete displayed a rare moment of semi-intelligence, suggesting that I meet and pick up up Tournamag aka Gary, on route along the M25 by the Queen Mary bridge. Unfortunately neither myself or Gary had even heard of this supposedly impressive landmark etched into the dark clay like substance within Chipmunk's head? So instead we chose the QE bridge and duly met, sorted.

We arrived at the chosen venue mid afternoon and fished the remainder of the ebb tide down, nothing, zilch, not even a slightly scared looking worm.

The flood tide then started to make the beach as the sun was setting and wahooo I catch a Plaice just undersize, swiftly followed by a second of similar proportions, both lip hooked and swiftly returned. These are then followed by a Schooly of approx 2lb, hurrah, then a Ting, boo hiss.