World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i am new to fishing. And i have heard people say that if you catch mackeral and handle them to unhook them and put them back they will die in a few days??
How about if you use a wet (sea water) cloth to hold them to unhook them?

I have also been told by others that this is a load of crap? and that they dont die.

Please can you clear this up for me, as i have started catching quite a lot of mackeral and i would like to know what is the best way to put the ones i dont want to eat or for bait back safely.

Thankyou

·
Registered
5,397 Posts
Tis something to do with the heat/oil of the anglers hands (where it has been touched can often be seen as a handmark on the fish's skin).

Even though only microscopically damaged, the mackerel's skin continues to break down with death inevitable within 30 hours.

Shaking the fish off the hook or handling with wetted neoprene gloves is said to prevent the problem. I do return undersize by shaking them straight off the hook, although quite simply when I have my requirement, the best option is to cease fishing for them. A spinner with a single large hook ( change at home with pliers and a few tears ! LOL ) can often select the larger specimens, but when they are on the boil macky smaller than the bait seem to have suicidal tendency's.

·
Registered
482 Posts
Tis something to do with the heat/oil of the anglers hands (where it has been touched can often be seen as a handmark on the fish's skin).

Even though only microscopically damaged, the mackerel's skin continues to break down with death inevitable within 30 hours.