World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hope you'll excuse a question from a newbie.... but i've been wondering about timing. I'm new to fishing in the salt and I'm hoping to seek out some bass this summer.
What do you think triggers the start of the 'season' if such a thing exists.
Much of what I've read implies that it's the rising sea temperature which starts the 'season' for many species but before I began my current career as a journalist, I was a scientist and I'm dubious about sea temperatures reacting rapidly to the weather... the salt water is a massive heat sink and it takes a lot to shift its temperature much. I read that hours-of-daylight might trigger many natural phenomena and I wonder what your experiences are.... is there a day on which, for you, the 'season' starts.
All advice greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3,500 Posts
Bass are caught all year round along the south coast, it must be a temperature thing rather than a daylight hours thing.

·
Registered
2,694 Posts
Hope you'll excuse a question from a newbie.... but i've been wondering about timing. I'm new to fishing in the salt and I'm hoping to seek out some bass this summer.
What do you think triggers the start of the 'season' if such a thing exists.
Much of what I've read implies that it's the rising sea temperature which starts the 'season' for many species but before I began my current career as a journalist, I was a scientist and I'm dubious about sea temperatures reacting rapidly to the weather... the salt water is a massive heat sink and it takes a lot to shift its temperature much. I read that hours-of-daylight might trigger many natural phenomena and I wonder what your experiences are.... is there a day on which, for you, the 'season' starts.
All advice greatly appreciated.