World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After continual slipping on both my surfmaster 850's (what rubbish reels - nothing like the old 70s) last night, I have finally decided to jack free spools in and get two new multipliers. But I have no idea what to look for. I'm new to using multi's so ideally an easy to use reel? Budget wise probably about £150 a reel (maybe £200 at a push), but i'm really not sure what to go for. I've read about magnet brakes etc, but have no idea what it's all about! If somebody could just explain the basics of a multiplier to me, I would be really thankful, sorry for the ignorance, but I'd rather ask and look stupid than fork out money for a reel that will be no good.

Many Thanks,

Matt

·
The people's moral compass
12,847 Posts
hi dude,

seing as you're in Devon i'd guess you fish a mix of rough and clean ground, something like a daiwa saltist 30H (don't get the TH) is well within your range (around £130 or less), superb reels for the rough stuff, cast well and fast retrieve. very controllable reels.

if you want something that'll cast further then there's the penn 525 range, pretty much as above but, with mag control too. downside? pretty hard to tame / get the best out of them if you're not used to multi's,

clean ground only? abu 6500 mag elite or the newer version with the 6:1 retrieve. very user friendly.

Hugh

some more info here on the saltist
http://www.worldseafishing.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115867&highlight=saltist+review

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
Talk to your local tackle dealer, explain what type of fishing you are doing and on what type of beach. He can advise you better than on here. The Okuma magnetix are decent reels for £59.99

·
Registered
1,896 Posts
Budget wise probably about £150 a reel (maybe £200 at a push)