World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been fishing Dungeness for the last 40 years and I've read many pieces about how to approach the venue and what leads to use. Without doubt Dungeness can be a challenging venue and it doesn't suffer fools lightly.

How familiar is this scenario?

You go to the trouble to get the freshest bait you can, you then get yourself onto the right spot, you wind yourself up and launch your bait seaward, so job done, stand back and await the legendary slack liner!

Wrong - your weight trundles off downtide. Even worse, the angler down tide casts his standard 4 oz breakaway over your loop of line going downtide and drags you further down at best, or into one of the tackle snags!

So having got all the ingredients right you need to hold bottom correctly or it will all be in vain. I read with great interest Bricky Lee's thread on the subject, and we should all take note, he isn't wrong. But in reality the minimum amount of lead required to effectively hold bottom will depend on many variable aspects. Natural elements outside of our control such as strength of tide run, amount of weed, size & power of the swells. Then the things within our direct control like main line diameter & size of bait and how far we cast.

Having the ability to cast a good distance brings with it a number of problems, the more line out there the more difficulty you will experience holding bottom.