World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
People who fish the Stretch between King Alfred and HDSA will no doubt have seen an Azerbijani angler named 'Adam' who fishes the stretch every day, mostly a low water.

At first you'd think he's a complete beginner as his casting method (runs up and launch it), rigs (running ledger with 2 snap swivels, 5 ft snood, and rater strange pennel set up with top hook in a loop 6 inches above the other) and gear (£20 rod + reel deal) are not what you'd expect to see from a successful angler. He also uses a big 'army' spade to dig out bib black lug with enormous holes.

However, I reckon he could be the most successful angler this year on that stretch of shore with 20 bass over 2lb + 2 over 4lb (I don't doubt this as I have seen him catch and seen his photos). This may well have taken 80 or so short sessions but the number of 2lb+ fish is still very high - for me only about 1 in 40 in this size on lugworm from these beaches.

I think he is just one of those has the 'knack'.

·
Registered
2,613 Posts
Interesting post.

There is no doubt that there are many accomplished bassers about - some are on here! Quite a few are loners though, and definately not tackle tarts. Two locals spring to mind...

First was an old guy who would buy his cod and chips, then cycle down to a local beach a mile and a half away, and sit eating them until the waves were lapping a certain section of the breakwater. Then he would launch out his half a mackeral all of 10 foot, and sit down and wait. Often he was fishless, but accounted for several bass over ten pounds in the 5 year period I knew him. Oh, and he had no tip ring on his solid glass rod....