World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i am new to fishing as you can tell by my question.
There seem to be so many diffrent types of rigs and so many diffrent opinions talking to other anglers.

I would like to know what rig to use where and does it effect the species you may catch??

I have just started making my own rigs, but i have no idea what ones i need and where i should use them to? I do fish from the rocks, estuary (fowey)

And have just got in to beach fishing! i have been using a 3hook flapper with diffrent size hooks 1/0-3/0 with diffrent baits on one rod and a 1hook clip down rig size 3/0 hook on another, and have been told recently i am doing it wrong and all i should use it a 1hook clip down rig with no beads atc and a size 5/0 hook and just use one bait eg lug.

Please help because i am starting to get really confussed:doh:

cheers and tight lines

·
Registered
11,237 Posts
thats a massive question and you,ll get lots of replies.

you really need someone local to tel you what rigs they use in your area and why they use them. obviously weather, ground and species available will govern which rig you should choose on the day.

hope you get your answers.

·
Registered
426 Posts
do your own thing there are no set rules if you know roughly what species of fish your most likely to be catching then match the hook size to the fish you expect to catch,,,my last trip i was fishing for cod with large hooks and big baits just kept catching whiting so went on to a 3 hook rig with size 1 hooks 1st cast a 3lb codling a couple of casts later another cod of 5 lbs yet the other rod still on a pennel rig with large hooks was catching whiting and dabs :giveup: :giveup: :giveup: :giveup: just use whatever you want main thing is to enjoy yourself:clap2: :clap2: :clap2:

·
Registered
3,500 Posts