World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
574 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and good day to you all, Im a complete newbie to the world of sea fishing. I need some advice please, I've been looking round the site and various posts regarding a shock leader.

I understand they are a must to have, but how the hell do you set one up??

Any advice on setting one up will be appreciated and thanks in advance.

·
Accepts cakes as bribes.
12,213 Posts
Welcome to WSF. :)

Click this link: http://www.worldseafishing.com/news/154/ARTICLE/1292/2006-06-18.html

This will tell you how to tie one, but if you get stuck there's a whole lot more to this site than just the forums, just click on the blue tabs at the top of the page, loads of info there, plenty for you to chew over! (Groan!) :D

If you get stuck or have any questions, let me know. Loads of helpful people on here anyway, most prob have a couple of pages of replies by tonight. :)

·
Registered
1,896 Posts
A good rule of thumb is that you need 10lbs breaking strain of shockleader line for every ounce of lead you're casting. The length of the shockleader required should be about two and half times the length of your rod.

·
Registered
3,890 Posts
Tapered shock leaders are good too - about 16lb at one end and 60lb at the other (usually about 13m lenghths) - find them at veals below (Bullet do them too)

https://www.veals.co.uk/acatalog/Shockleader.html

If you fish a fixed spool attach a leader to your spare spool and take it with you - saves time if you crack off / loose your leader

·
Registered
2,106 Posts
Tapered shock leaders are good too - about 16lb at one end and 60lb at the other (usually about 13m lenghths) - find them at veals below (Bullet do them too)

https://www.veals.co.uk/acatalog/Shockleader.html

If you fish a fixed spool attach a leader to your spare spool and take it with you - saves time if you crack off / loose your leader