World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've been using a fixed spool with braid for the last 2 years over very snaggy venues. I have already worn 2 out ( A Penn Surfmaster 70 and a Mustad Centurion) and my current Centurion is on its last legs.

I have tried braid on my Penn 525Mag and have found it to be a nightmare, with random crack offs a common occurance (the line just parts 2-3 seconds after casting whilst the lead is in the air)

Can anyone recommend an indestructable Fixed Spool reel? I have a budget up to around £150.

Cheers

·
Registered
424 Posts
You want the Penn Spinfisher 850, if you can find one in this country (you'll probably need all of your budget too!). Their technoloy is slightly old-fashioned but they're reckoned to be bomb-proof. The Daiwa Opus Plus is a good rugged, workhorse type reel and costs only around £30 so you can afford to carry a spare.

Cheers,

John

·
Registered
477 Posts
You want the Penn Spinfisher 850, if you can find one in this country (you'll probably need all of your budget too!). Their technoloy is slightly old-fashioned but they're reckoned to be bomb-proof. The Daiwa Opus Plus is a good rugged, workhorse type reel and costs only around £30 so you can afford to carry a spare.

Cheers,

John
Spinfisher 850SSM in stock in Scotland - try any friendly Mail Order Shop to get hold of one - RRP £130

·
Registered
12,314 Posts
Spinfisher 850SSM in stock in Scotland - try any friendly Mail Order Shop to get hold of one - RRP £130

Cant speak for the 850SSM but I`ve got its` big brother the 950SSM for white marlin . Built like a Challenger tank and smooth as a Swiss watch :clap3::clap3:

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Is this Spinfisher suitable for braid?

I take it for the price the line lay is pretty damn fantastic!

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Treeboa,