World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning guy's, just thought i'd introduce myself. I'm fairly new to sea angling having moved down here from West Brom 3 years ago, living near Llantrisant now. I was a keen coarse fisherman before and i still get bemused by the size of the hooks, weights etc we use for our sea fish! I've fished the Knap in Barry, Marcross and the waterfront Barry with zero success! Been out on my mates boat off Penarth about a month ago and got doggies and small skate. Can anyone suggest good beginner venues or tips? Tight lines, Jim

·
MARCHING ON TOGETHER!
10,506 Posts
Good morning guy's, just thought i'd introduce myself. I'm fairly new to sea angling having moved down here from West Brom 3 years ago, living near Llantrisant now. I was a keen coarse fisherman before and i still get bemused by the size of the hooks, weights etc we use for our sea fish! I've fished the Knap in Barry, Marcross and the waterfront Barry with zero success! Been out on my mates boat off Penarth about a month ago and got doggies and small skate. Can anyone suggest good beginner venues or tips? Tight lines, Jim
welcome to the forum m8 i look forward to reading your future catch and pics reports..andy ilsf

·
Team Rig Maker
19,817 Posts
there are so many venue's and places to visit and fish, some are not advisable to fish on your own here is a list of marks in wales from the forum, there is info on baits to use tactics and tackle etc

also look at this it gives even more idea's on marks

·
Registered
4,456 Posts
hi jim-yam,

...croeso i Gymru...

one of the biggest mistakes newbies make is using hooks that are too big. Big fish will take a small bait but small fish wont take a big bait! Don't throw away them carp hooks, they are great for sea fishing. there's a lot of helpful peeps on here i'm sure you'll be catching soon.:bye1:

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
hi jim-yam,

...croeso i Gymru...